New Pluralsight Course: Fixing Common jQuery Bugs

Read More »

Unit Test like a Secret Agent with Sinon.js

The following content comes from the forth module of my Pluralsight course entitled: Front-End First: Testing and Prototyping JavaScript Apps. The rest of the course covers an introduction to Unit Testing, Examples of Hard to Test Code, Mocha (a JavaScript test runner), Grunt (a JavaScript task runner), Mockjax (a way to mock Ajax requests), mockJSON (a way to generate semi-random complex objects for prototyping), and more.

Introduction

Read More »

Testing and Prototyping JavaScript Applications


I’m pleased to announce that I’ve finished my first course for Pluralsight entitled Front-End First: Testing and Prototyping JavaScript Apps.

Years ago it was common for the back-end to have code coverage, but having unit tests for client-side JavaScript was difficult, cumbersome, and rare. Thankfully, today that is no longer the case. By using various tools and libraries such as Mocha, Sinon.js, and GruntJS you can easily provide code coverage for your front-end as well.

Historically a front-end developer had to wait until the back-end was complete before they could start truly building a functional User Interface. Thankfully today there are libraries such as Mockjax, AmplifyJS, and mockJSON that can enable you to simulate the interactions with the back-end before its even complete. By doing so, this enables a front-end developer to work independently from the back-end and allows both teams to efficiently work within their speciality.


<div></div>

Read More »

AngleBrackets Sessions and Slides

I had a great time this week at the AngleBrackets conference in Las Vegas, NV. It was the first year for this web focused conference.

I was honored to speak alongside John Papa (@john_papa), Dan Wahlin (@danwahlin), Scott Hanselman (@shanselman), Christian Heilmann (@codepo8), Lea Verou (@LeaVerou), Denise Jacobs (@denisejacobs), Jim Cowart (@ifandelse), Todd Anglin (@toddanglin), Burke Holland (@burkeholland), and more….

Thanks you for everyone who was able to attend my talks. It was great to meet you all. I enjoyed our conversations and your questions. I hope to see you all around at another conference in the near future! The following are the talks that I gave this past week.

Read More »

Angry Birds of JavaScript- Mighty Eagle: Automation

Introduction

A diabolical herd of pigs stole all of the front-end architecture from an innocent flock of birds and now they want it back!

Read More »